Everest Region

Everest Region

The 1,500 mile long Himalaya range contains every one of the world's fourteen 8000 metre peaks. Nepal is home to eight of those 8000'ers: Everest (8848 m), Kanchenjunga (8586 m), Lhotse (8516 metres), Makalu (8485 m), Cho Oyu (8,201 m), Dhaulagiri I (8,167 m), Manaslu (8163 m) and Annapurna I (8109 m). The rest are found in Pakistan, China and India.

The Everest region is accessed by a nerve-racking 30 minute flight in a tiny plane to Lukla airport (at 2,860 metres). From there, walkers and climbers trek for two days to the main town in the Everest region, Namche Bazaar (3,440 metres, offering accommodation, good food, internet cafes, and equipment shops).

Everest base camp is about another week away (bearing in mind that ascent must be taken slowly because of the altitude), reached after nights spent at small settlements called Tengboche (3870m), Pheriche (4240m), Duglha (4620m), Lobuche (4930m) and Gorak Shep (5160m).

From base camp, trekkers can summit the 5545 metre Kala Patthar, which offers great views of Everest, Lhotse and Nuptse (7,816 m).

Trekkers may also be lucky enough to observe Everest climbers, acclimatising themselves for the trip to the top of the world via the deadly Khumbu icefalls (5,486 m), four further high camps, the South Col (7,906 m) and the Hillary Step (a 12-metre rock wall at 8,760 m).